Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat

Melbourne Committee Reaches for the Clouds
See more on CTBUH Global Representation
See More CTBUH Events
September 4th, 2014
MELBOURNE - The CTBUH Australia Chapter’s Melbourne Committee held the first of its lecture series on Thursday 4th September 2014. More than 120 people attended the free event, featuring presentations on “Reaching for the Clouds: The Case for Steel and Concrete in Tall Building Construction.”
Anil Hira, Regional Director, Buro Happold Attendees
Following a brief introduction of the CTBUH Melbourne Committee and the speakers, Anil Hira, Regional Director, Buro Happold (India) outlined the case for steel in tall buildings. An overview of changes in construction methods was discussed. He argued that speed is the key advantage of using steel, providing interesting historical and current case studies of structural steel buildings and steel elements within buildings.

Ryan Campbell, Director, Bonacci Group (Sydney) began his case for concrete construction with a discussion on aviation requirements in Australia. Height controls, structural depths and advancements in concrete technology are key advantages that have driven concrete tall buildings in Australia. He continued the discussion with case study examples of work Bonacci has recently completed in Brisbane.
Name Company
Marc Colella Aecom
Kriston Symons Aecom
John Biondo Alsafe Concrete
Anthony Galgano Apex Welding
Matthew Galgano Apex Welding
Chris Freeman APP
Andy Armstrong Arup
Kelvin Cheuk Arup
Mitchell Findlay Arup
Brendon McNiven Arup
James O'Donnell Arup
Richard Salter Arup
Grant Wang Arup
Weng Chan Aurecon
Nina Feng Aurecon
Arvin Firmalan Aurecon
David Law Aurecon
Will Rule Aurecon
Ian Cairns Australian Steel Institute
Katherine Buchanan Bates Smart
Melinda Chan Bates Smart
Roger Poole Bates Smart
Andrew Raftopoulos Bates Smart
Karen Wong Bates Smart
Denzil Whitfield Bluescope Steel
John Bahoric Bonacci
Ryan Campbell Bonacci
Chris Barras Boral Concrete
Carmen Drummond Boral Concrete
Richard Lane Boral Concrete
Andrew Morgan Brookfield Multiplex
Dean Mitchell Brookfield Multiplex
Jules Tribuzio Brookfield Multiplex
Tim Trimble Brookfield Multiplex
Liz Sheil Brookfield Multiplex
Paul Walsh Bruce Young Partners
Fred Nejad Camillo Concrete Structures
Jaime Parsons Cardinia Shire Council
Julio Brenes Cox Architecture
Livee Tan Cox Architecture
Barry Laycock Davis Langdon
Willaim Fong DesignInc
Craig Gillette DTPLI
Larry Parsons DTPLI
Graeme Raper Exfoliators
Louis Raper Exfoliators
Raymond Forzisi Fielders
Yogesh Bahirwani Fine Design
David Batey Fine Design
Upul Perera Fine Design
Lee Jones FMG Engineering
Andrew Vangelista FMG Engineering
Seifu Bekele Global Wind Technology Services
Craig Skipsey Global Wind Technology Services
Timothy Cox Grimshaw
Matthew Holloway Grimshaw
Neil Stonell Grimshaw
Kerry Angelin Irwinconsult
Phil Gardiner Irwinconsult
Deniz Ibrahim Irwinconsult
Ray Buttigieg Matrix Group
Ben Gofron Matrix Group
Rudy Van Merkestein McKenzie Group
Andrew Murray Moull Murray Architects
Alessandra Cesarini Murchie
Ross Murchie Murchie
Ben Ferguson NDY
Spiros Dallas OneSteel
Darren Eade OneSteel
Maurice Pessot OneSteel
Michael Collins Plus Architecture
Jessica Liew Plus Architecture
Stuart Jones Point 5 Consulting
Joe Russo Point 5 Consulting
Marti Fooks Pressed Metal Studios
Richard Fooks Pressed Metal Studios
William Cardamone Probuild Constructions (Aust) Pty Ltd
Joseph Pressti Robert Bird Group
Chris Tattersall SEMF
Joost Kuckartz SODIS Lab
Alan Barham TGM Group
Ned Gilbert TGM Group
Nathaniel Jobse TGM Group
Jeff Tribe TGM Group
Alvin Low The Buchan Group
Scott Coxon TTW
Matthew Bove TTW
Jarrod Brown TTW
Nigel Burdon TTW
Marien Johnson TTW
Leon Neilsen TTW
Paul Sankey TTW
Richard Stokes Umow Lai
Nicholas Haritos University of Melbourne
Giorgio Marfella University of Melbourne
Yi Shen University of Melbourne
Vinh Hua Webber Design Pty Ltd
Angelo Thurairajah Webber Design Pty Ltd
Öngüç Yücel Webber Design Pty Ltd
Andrew Woo Webber Design Pty Ltd
Kevin Peddie Windtech Consultants
Steve Hantzolos Wood & Grieve Engineers
Thomas Keane Wood & Grieve Engineers
Tim Mansfield Wood & Grieve Engineers
George Samaras Wood & Grieve Engineers
Cathy Tsai Wood & Grieve Engineers
Ashley Willis Wood & Grieve Engineers
Daniel Yap Wood & Grieve Engineers
Simon Dick Woods Bagot
Karl Engstrom Woods Bagot
Hazel Porter Woods Bagot
Mark Circosta WSP
Golnaz Izadi WSP
James McCutcheon WSP
Sean Treweek WSP
Mark Hennessy WSP Winward
Kevin Winward WSP Winward
Millicent Anderson
James Carter
Prajjwal Reddy